Life Gets in the Way.

Hello friends…

My best intentions of posting the ‘best’ of 2009 have alluded me for many reasons:

  1. My shower head was in need of repair. Fixed. Done.
  2. My Mom’s toilet was in need of repair. Bought the part. Installed the part. Part didn’t work. Must return to hardware store for correct part.
  3. Mixed up schedules and appointments made for a bit of chaos.
  4. My beloved car is in the shop. Again. Was supposed to be fixed on Monday. Still haven’t heard from my mechanic.
  5. Spent a good hour plotting the demise and torture of said mechanic.
  6. I am lazy.
  7. All of the above.

Okay, that said, the Best of 2009 I swear, is coming. If I’m not arrested and on trial for number 5, I will get to it over the next couple of days.

But I had to leave you all with something (this is me, actually pretending people are reading this silly blog, and returning to see if I am capable of writing some more endless dribble).

So let’s get right to it. The food.

Farmer's Market at it's finest

None of this food group made it into my belly today. Boo.

I was bad today. Because of the crazy schedule mentioned above, I was not able to prepare a simple, real breakfast, which usually includes oatmeal:

  • Scottish Oats
  • Banana
  • Flax Seeds
  • Brown sugar
  • Almond Butter

Instead, after a 3 + mile run, I showered and dressed, then proceeded to slam down a Mojo Bar and head out the door for more errands. By the time I picked up Dirk at noon, we decided to grab a bite out for lunch (another really bad idea when you are so hungry you could bite a baby’s butt through a park bench).

Insert The Habit here. Not bad. But when you go back for seconds (as in a second burger and onion rings) It. Is. Bad.

Finally home after another unsuccessful venture (see list number 2), I took a quick nap. Back up and on the road to pick up Dirk. Home again, and dinner was probably best passed on, but I do live with a strong, young Dutch boy, so I prepared (reheated) some leftover quiche and salad.

A couple glasses of wine later, and this is what you get people.

I’m not proud. But some days you just do what you can. And I’m pretty sure I have fulfilled my need of burger and bun for a while.

Tomorrow is another day. A good run will be in order. Then some oatmeal.

And then I deal with my mechanic. I vow to be gentle.

Leave a Reply

