Shfiggy Bars? Fuggedaboutit.

Yesterday I posted this article about my findings at the local Farmer’s Market, and my attempt at some healthy fig bars. As promised, this is my report back.

I wish I had better news, but the recipe I made was not a huge success. The filling was good, but the crust was not what I had hoped for. It didn’t exactly taste like cardboard but it was close enough.

Yes, I have eaten cardboard before, so I know what I’m talking about. I was young. Don’t judge. I’ve also tried dog biscuits. They taste like doggy cardboard.

Dirk and I ate a couple of the fig bars last night, and while the flavors of the fig and date mixture worked well with the spice from the cinnamon and the crunch of the oats, I probably wouldn’t make these again.

This tasted just okay.

This tasted just okay.

I did end up using some of the bars in my morning breakfast, crumbled on top of plain yogurt and it was edible. One thing I will say about these bars, they kept me full all morning. I wasn’t hungry until lunchtime, which is usually not the case. My stomach will usually start to rumble a good hour before noon. Note to self: Cardboard is satiety.

In retrospect, I should have used my over-ripe figs, replacing the bananas to make these muffins. Ah well, live and learn.

My latest kitchen dilemma is finding a use for 2 pounds of strawberries which maybe only have a 24 hour window. I think I’ll head into the kitchen and whip up a batch of strawberry jam. Made with nothing more than sugar, strawberries and a bit of balsamic vinegar, I am hopeful it will extend the summer days long after strawberry season has passed. I suppose you could also use it as a topping for ice cream or frozen yogurt, top your morning waffles or pancakes, or serve with biscuits, toast or scones.

Since it doesn’t contain pectin, not canned with the usual sterilized lids, tops and bottoms, or finished in a water bath, we shall see. I’m not into to all that, especially when the temps are rising above 80 degrees, my small kitchen even hotter. No thanks.

Tomorrow I’ll post the results, good or bad.

Hell, if another kitchen disaster ensues, I can always make strawberry jam peanut butter muffins.

2 responses to “Shfiggy Bars? Fuggedaboutit.

  1. ummm, cardboard….

  2. Pingback: We’re Jammin’… « Total Rogue

Leave a Reply

