Hello Blog World!

Today is my first post on my new Blog, Total Rogue. I am going to be writing about food, food and uh, food.

I will tackle many aspects of the culinary world, from recipes to restaurant reviews, general cooking tips and all things related to the pleasure of dining, drinking and devouring great food.

A little bit about myself, my name is Kat and I have been involved in the culinary world most of my life. I developed a love and appreciation for good food at a young age, probably around the age of 5. My grandmother was a fantastic cook and even owned and operated a bakery in Los Angeles in the 1930’s. She was quite a talent in the kitchen, both home and professional.

My Mom? Not so much. I began cooking at home around the age of 12 when I realized there had to be more to life than fish sticks and well done lamb chops. (No offense Mama, you know I love you to pieces!)

My love of food continued, and after years of waiting tables and various bar positions, I was curious to venture into the ‘back of the house’. I stretched the truth a bit to get my first kitchen position (they didn’t know my 10 plus years of restaurant history centered mostly around making endless batches of margaritas and cutting bar fruit, they figured it was more centered around actual prep and line work).

Within 6 months, I advanced through the kitchen and within 1 year I was on the ‘line’. My work as a self taught cook continued to evolve over several years, and I advanced to sous chef, chef de cuisine and eventually went on to open a couple restaurants and finally got into private catering and chef as well.

If you know anything about the restaurant business, you will know that 20+ years of existing in said environment is harrowing at best. You deal day in and day out with various degrees of nasty people. Nasty purveyors, nasty chefs, waiters and customers, drunk employees (sometimes your wretched self, I am not proud to admit), and endless hours which both physically and emotionally suck your life dry. As I reached 40, I became aware  I may be a pretty talented cook, but I too, had become nasty and a very miserable human being.

With the love and support of my wonderful husband, I walked away from the professional world of food, moved across the country (actually twice, but that’s another blog), and found my love and passion again for food.

In my own kitchen. No time clock. No dead lines. No ordering. No food costs. No damn annoying chef throwing plates, or insults at me. This is my second journey. The story begins now.

4 responses to “Hello Blog World!

  1. Bravo Kat !!!

  2. Fabulous idea! Can’t wait to read your musings…….

  3. Woohoo! Congrats on new blog sweetie! (What’s for dinner?)

  4. Awesome- can’t wait for more!
    Chris

Leave a Reply

